Veterans for Peace Radio Hour

July 10, 2014

I Got To Thinking…..

Filed under: General Discussion — Tags: , — bobfunke @ 2:26

(I know, not THAT  again!)

I’m about as far from a Biblical scholar as one can get, but for some reason, this song popped into my head and I remembered that it has Biblical roots, perhaps it was in Solomon or something, but all religious books have some good things in them, and often the message is overlooked by some zealot that can’t figure out the “thee’s and the thou’s”.

But religion aside, there are certain truths that have been written in many books over the years. Many have fallen by the wayside, if it were not for a reporter that took down the Gettysburg Address, think of how less the legacy of this nation would be, much less Lincoln’s legacy.  Papers like the Constitution that begin with three enlarged words, “We the People…” lose their meaning when we don’t read them in context. What the Constitution is telling us is We are the government, we elect people to represent us and we have Rights and Privileges under this document, as spelled out under The Bill of Rights. We also have the responsibility to challenge or change those who do not live up to our expectations. We are an evolving country, (some may say a devolving country), the point is, we should all be working for the betterment of all people, not just a few. There will always be saints and sinners, and everything in between. I see good people every day, in fact most of the people I see are good people, maybe I’m just not as cynical as I once was, I can evolve as well.

What I want to do is share this with you, many years ago, it got me through some pretty tough times, it helped me understand the world as it is, and how it can be. Please take a moment and enjoy this:

 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pKP4cfU28vM

Peace,

Bob

 

 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

